Poison Ivy’s Venus Fly Trap Smoothie Bowl

 

So I guess another welcome back is in order! I had every intention of continuing with blogging, however due to a lot of highly stressful personal/professional changes in my life over the past year, blogging well and truly went on the back burner in my spare time.

I feel that now I’m only just starting to gain a little prospective on things that happened and gain back the motivation that I had lost, which is where this new element to my blog has come from – and I hope you’re excited as I am! Since discovering that I am gluten/wheat intolerant, I have been striving to make my diet/exercise regime as healthy as possible – mostly out of necessity, although  I feel that I am mentally/physically better for it now! Its been in this time that I have become vegan, and it has given me the passion to experiment with cooking (or I guess you should call it mixing?) in an entirely new way.

If you follow me on Instagram, then you will know that I am CONSTANTLY posting what I have for breakfast, as it is my favourite meal of the day by far. Yes, I’d definitely eat breakfast foods all the time if I could aha.  I’ve honestly lost count on how many times my friends have said to me that I should add a food blog to my site…so yeah, I’ve given in due to popular demand I guess! I feel that this will be a great way for me to get back into blogging again, not to mention it’ll give me the chance to show off some of my Insta-worthy food photography! (Huzzah!)

In order to keep a certain level of geekiness to my blog, I’ve decided that each breakfast recipe is going to pay homage to pop-culture with its title.

12285603_10154306225569908_1314171710_n (1)

So without further ado, I present to you Poison Ivy’s Venus Fly Trap Smoothie Bowl! Yes, indeed it is a tribute breakfast bowl to the Batman DC villain of the same name, while also taking inspiration from how the figs were decorated to resemble that of a venus fly trap…but don’t worry, it won’t strike at you when you go for a bite ;).

Despite being a concoction of mostly blueberries and avocado, this has to be one of the creamiest smoothies I’ve made to date. It took me a while to realise that the avocado was really only needed to create a slightly thicker texture. Which makes it perfect for freezing to make it into nicecream, or even adding chia seeds for chia pudding. It’s a lovely mixture of fruit and veggies, and it has definitely become a staple in my breakfast routine.

Ingredients:

  •  1 Cup of Coconut Water
  •  Half Cup of Blueberries (No need to be frozen)
  •  2 Bananas
  •  1 Ripe Avocado (Sliced, Pitted of course!)

Directions:

  • Place all ingredients into blender and blend until smooth/creamy in texture.

For Decoration:

  •  1 Fig (Sliced in Two)
  • Small Bowl of Raspberries
  • Sprinkle Gluten Free Buckwheat

 

Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Poison Ivy’s Venus Fly Trap Smoothie Bowl

Leave a Reply

