Lara Croft Tomb Raider 2013 Cosplay: Emcon.

As many of you will know, Emcon was supposed to be the true unveiling of my Tomb Raider Reborn Cosplay in which I had also entered it into the Cosplay Competition. Unfortunately however due to immense overselling of tickets by Emcon itself (an 800 person venue with 3000 tickets being sold), there was immense overcrowding and after waiting in line for 2 hours I still hadn’t got in to the convention. Having been told that we would have to wait even longer, which I must say is ridiculous for a line that was supposed to be for ticket holders, I decided that it wasn’t worth it to wait any longer and so decided to go home without even getting to compete in the competition. I have to say that I’m absolutely gutted that I didn’t get to unveil and show off my costume to those who were inside, and that those who ran the event should be ashamed of themselves for being greedy enough to continue to sell tickets already knowing that it would eventually reach capacity on the day. I feel like I really missed out, but I absolutely wasn’t the only one as the Cosplayers who I had planned to interview were in the same situation as myself and I had to tell them that I wasn’t prepared to wait any longer; especially when although the weather was sunny, it was incredibly windy thus highly unpleasant to be waiting around in such a long queue.

1622747_597545507004403_1538935063_n

I can honestly say that the only good outcome of this event was the reaction to my Cosplay that I had received from those who were in the queue itself. I had a lot of people coming up to me and complimenting me on my accuracy and craftsmanship and wanting to take my picture with them; and even had two event photographers taking me aside so that they could photograph me in character. This obviously means that all my hard work paid off and that my cosplay was somewhat of a success; however, it just makes me think that if I had got into the event then I would have gotten even more attention from those who were already inside.

Since yesterday, I have contacted the even organizers voicing my utter disgust of how the day turned out to be; especially as this was work for my module of which they said they would give me a full refund if I send my ticket back them.Although I think this is the least they could do, it does mean however that I am going to have to find another convention to attend in the next few weeks; especially as I have to present my work so far on my project implementation. I have to say, this does put a lot of pressure on myself as it means it will be a rush to find an alternative convention in such little time. It also means that If I do have success in finding a substantial convention that also runs a segment for Cosplay, I will need to interview yet more Cosplayers who are attending so that I can also photograph them on the day of the convention.

For now, I am going to regroup and try to find an alternative convention to attend by researching if there are any events happening in the next few weeks. If I am successful, using forums and other social media I will then try and get in to contact with Cosplayers who are attending that event and try the use the same interview/photo-shoot method that I had originally planned.

Leave a Reply

