Exhibition: Task Breakdown and Groups.

In this session, we looked at the breakdown of tasks that needed to be sorted in order to make our exhibition a success. A lot of time and effort will need to be put in to these next coming months and so we needed to bullet point exactly what jobs needed to be carried out beforehand. I must say that some of the things we listed in this session appeared to be rather obvious to me, however there were also some things that I hadn’t really considered until they were bought in to the discussion.

Tasks to be done:

  • Venue
  • Advertising/publicity
  • Budgeting
  • Organising private view
  • Hosplitality
  • Book design/catalogue
  • Exhibition layout in venue
  • Publicity flyers
  • Invitations
  • Poster design
  • Website/social media
  • Transporting work to venue
  • Press
  • Printing/editing

Budgeting:

  • Venue hire – staff, food and drink (hire glasses and cover breakages if included in fee), electricity, furniture, fee for speaker
  • Administration – Invitations, flyers, posters, adverts (in papers), press releases, postage, phonecalls, travel

Producing and Hanging Work:

  • Printing
  • Mounting
  • Framing
  • Hanging Materials (if applicable)
  • Cleaning Materials
  • Lebelling names/dates etc.

Transportation:

  • Van Hire
  • Fuel money
  • Care of work (Packaging)

Private View (Opening Night):

  • Alcohol
  • Soft Drinks
  • Food and Snacks
  • Tableclothes
  • Cutlery
  • Decorations
  • Music

Documentation of show:

  • Film
  • Photography

After this, we were given the choice from the list below of which task/job we would like to do.

  • Venue/Location
  • Catalogue Design/Production
  • Website/Twitter/Facebook
  • Press Release
  • Invitation copy, design and distribution
  • Poster/Leaflet distribution
  • Sponsorship/Fundraising/Budgeting
  • Organisation of Private View

As I have always said that my strengths lie in my writing more so than anything else, I felt that doing something with the promotional aspect of the exhibition would be advisable for me. I haven’t had much experience with website making, and I wouldn’t consider my design making would be work for the level of quality that we wanted to achieve and so I chose to do Press Release within a very small group. I chose this group as I felt that PR has always been something that I have been interested in doing possibly once I graduated, especially as it mostly consists of writing; while also pushing me as it has a lot to do with getting the crucial facts of an event down in a very precise way. I also felt that it would be a little bit of a challenge in approaching potential clientele such as magazines and websites that would print out press release and spread the word of our exhibition; especially as this is something that I feel I would like practice in.

The other two that are in my group are also people that I have never worked with before as they were in a different group to me altogether in the first 2 years of the course. Although to many this might sound like a bad idea as it is usually advisable to work this those you know work well together; I felt that the people who I had worked with previously had a tendency to be quite lazy and would often leave me to organise what was going on. The impression that I got from the other two members in this group were that they were quite conscientious and were willing to do their part for this aspect of the exhibition, and so I felt encouraged to work with them. What should also be kept in mind is that they are also part of the fundraising group, although not entirely and so we felt that the main priority would be for us to focus on the press release instead. One of the members of my group is quite keen on looking at the structure of the press release itself, and so she will be looking in to this first while I gather contacts of potential magazines and websites that would be interested in helping spreading the word of our exhibition.

During this session, we also came up in the name of our exhibition which will be titled ‘Project 44’; as there are 44 students in our final year. Next week we will be meeting at the Corn Exchange where we will be viewing it as a potential venue to display our work. In addition to this, we will also be visiting other venues based within our groups while keeping the following in mind:

  • Size
  • Availability
  • Price
  • General feel
  • Accessibility
  • Licensing

As the other two members of my group are involved in the fundraising of the exhibition, we decided that I would come along with their other group to the Tetley Brewery, which is the venue that they have chosen to look at as another possibility to display all our work.

Leave a Reply

