DSLR Video

As one of the options for my editorial photography module is that we can make a video, it is obvious that we would have a tutorial where we experimented with the different filming techniques that we could use should be choose to make a video. For my subject, I felt as though I wanted to do something different to what I would normally choose to photograph and I also knew that the subject needed to be fairly lively in order for it to enhance the different shooting techniques. Which is why I chose to film around Headingly campus on a Friday morning.

The shots that I used:

Panning: Although sometimes confused with a tracking shot, a panning shot is created when moves from left to right and back again to perform a vertical axis.

Zoom: Moving in close and far from an image, I chose to do this one a little differently and start off close and zoom out to an establishing shot.

Tracking: Notably used when a shot is being by or pushed by wheels, however it can also be used by hand although this does not always promote a steady shot.

Close-up: Most commonly used to frame certain objects or subject matter, a close-up shot hones in on a tight frame to reveal more detail for a shot.

This task proved to be very informative, although I do not feel as though I would be confident enough to use this as part of my editorial feature. I guess you could say that this is mostly to do with lack of practice, and if I was to choose a subject matter that was extravagant and that required movement to get the narrative across it is definitely something that I could consider using. They also would have turned out far better if I had used a tripod to steady the shots so that they didn’t look as shaky as they clearly do in these clips. However, I feel that my photographic strengths are a lot more stronger than that of my filming expertise. Overall, I would say that I am relatively pleased with how the clips turned out and I do feel that they lived up to each different shot that I was trying to create, my next move however would be to edit them together so that they form a narrative.

Leave a Reply

