Guidelines for Harvard Referencing my project.

 

 

As this project requires a key aspect of writing a  research report, it is essential that I learn to use Harvard referencing effectively to show not only the amount but the quality of research that I have obtained for my Cosplay project and most importantly to avoid any form of plagiarism. Due to this, I have decided to write out the general guidelines to help me when writing up this report so that I can organise and highlight my findings in a clear manner. If I am ever in doubt of how to write up my references I will look to this post so that I have a better understanding as to how my research report should be structured. Overall, I feel quite confident that I will reference my findings properly in order to paraphase properly and ultimately avoid any form of plagiarism. I feel this particularly because I am constantly pinpointing certain aspects of academic reports that I may want to refer back in my research writing; which of course can only make it easier to reference later on. The only thing that I am a little unsure of is the amount of academic reports that I will find that revert back to the world of cosplay. I have found many articles and other forms of media about the topic however as I will need at least 30 academic references for the subject this makes me slightly uneasy; but I guess that I could interpret cosplay in to any other subject such as film costume or animation. I also have been reading the guide ‘Quote, Unquote’ that has helped me tremendously in correctly understanding the form and structure of Harvard Referencing for my research report.

Plagiarism, what is it?

Passing another’s work off as your own or using their work without their consent.

More Specifically

  • Using direct copies from book, article or website without putting the segment between quotation marks and without reference
  • Paraphrasing a section without reference

Leeds Met Regulations:

  • Plagiarism is a special form of cheating and theft
  • The inclusion of a student’s work of extracts from another person’s work without the use of quotation marks and/or acknowledgement of the source(s)
  • The summarising of another person’s work without acknowledgement
  • The substantial and unauthorised use of the ideas of another person without acknowledgement
  • Copying or printing the work of another student with or without that student’s knowledge or agreement

How to avoid plagiarism?

  • Reference every quote or every paraphrasing segment with its source
  • Not enough, but also important: Put direct quotes between “quotation marks”. This indicated that these are not your own words but that you copied them

Practical advice

  • Do not copy directly. Instead, try to re-word (paraphrase) in your own words. But if ideas taken from a source, you still need to reference this source
  • Keep track of where you found the information
  • Every information or facts which you are not generating yourself, but which comes from other sources, needs to be referenced

General attitude

  • Sometimes students want to ‘make it right’ and therefore copy from authoritative texts
  • Be critical thinkers and question everything

What do do with information?

  • Quoting the actual words (in quotation marks)
  • Paraphrasing: rewording in your own words
  • Summarising: describing the ideas with own interpretation
  • Referring to a source
  • ^ all needs referencing

Why referencing?

  • To give credit to the original author
  • To add weight to your argument
  • To allow that your sources can be checked
  • To protect yourself from the suspicion of plagiarism

Which information should be referenced?

  • When an idea or fact is directly attributable to someone
  • When using someone else’s pictures, graphs, tables, data

Software for referencing:

  • Endnote for Word
  • Zotero for Firefox. Allows also to manage also online references
  • Dairyscience.info

 

Leave a Reply

