Motel Rocks Aztec Dress

DSC_1717 DSC_1715

Excuse the mess on my floor...I'm aware my room looks like a crack den.
Excuse the mess on my floor…I’m aware my room looks like a crack den.

DSC_1723

I simply cannot wait to not have to stand in front of a mirror with my camera...its so cringey!
I simply cannot wait to not have to stand in front of a mirror with my camera…its so cringey!

Dress: Motel Rocks

Polka Dot Satchel: Present but similar here

Creepers: Amazon

Hat: Kit & Pearl (old) but similar here

I’m guessing the first post to any fashion blog is going to be a little daunting to say the least. Having said that however, I actually think these pictures turned out pretty well after much trial and error. I should really buy a tripod but I can’t really afford one, might have to hire one out once I’m back home for the summer. I mean no offence to any bloggers who take their pictures in this way just so you know, I understand that not everyone, myself included, has someone to take shots of their outfits so I completely understand why; its just for me I feel extremely awkward taking pictures of myself. Like I said in one of my posts, I feel so narcissistic and self indulgent shooting my outfits this way. Ah well, we make do with what we have don’t we?

I got this dress the other day from Motel Rocks and I’m completely in love with it. I’ve been really impressed by the S/S collection they have bought out this year; I like how many of the pieces on the site look as though they could be worn during the day or night depending on how you dress it. Obviously, one of the main “trends” at the moment is everything 90’s, from crop tops to tea dresses, the look is very grunge which I love.  If I could pick a decade where I could go back to and be my age now it would definitely be the 90’s, however, it kind of bugs me that at the moment its very hipster to be in to all things 80’s/90’s, especially when I’ve been dressing this way practically since I was 13 (clearly I was way before my time! 😉 ). I guess you could say I’m a bit like Owen Wilson’s character in Midnight in Paris haha! But I’m glad that fashion from those decades are being recognised once again and I think Motel have really hit the nail on the head with this current collection…I just want everything!

I absolutely love the silhouette of this dress, and the monochrome aztec print is so eye-catching. I decided that I would photograph it in both a dressed up and casual manner to show you all how I would wear it day/night and try to make it look different from each time of the day. The first pictures with my hair up are how I’d style it if I was going out. As I tend to mostly go to bars instead of clubs these days (waaay too much Uni work!), I’ve tried to keep it looking smart/casual with my trademark creepers (I literally NEVER stop wearing these bad boys!). Personally, I think its quite sporty look but it still looks fairly dressed up, if I was going to go out properly I’d probably team it with neon orange stilettos to make the outfit look more eye-catching. The second set of images are of how I’d wear it in the day for Uni or wherever. The spotted satchel was a present from my mum and she got it for £30 from a local shop where I live. I think its a great contrast to the dress’ aztec print but doesn’t clash with it at all. Like most girls, when I can’t be bothered to do my hair properly I’ll just stick a hat on, I think it adds to the chilled out look I was trying to achieve to a dress that would otherwise come across as quite dressy without the right accessories.

I’m also a street team member for Motel Rocks, so if you use my blog button code (situated at the side of the blog or below) you can get a 20% discount using the code “jessienoochies”.

jessienoochies button (1)

So there you have it, my first fashion blog post. The first of many I hope to come over the next few months!

Love Jess xxx

Leave a Reply

