Group Project: Layout Design.

With the deadline date fast approaching, I also started a mock up of the layout for my section of the magazine using InDesign. At first I found it really hard to visualize my article in the Empire magazine  Avatar feature layout that I had initially chosen for inspiration for the Revival article. This was mostly because my copy really dominated the majority of the page, leaving the images looking squashed together. However, after decided to just simply play around with different ways to lay my copy out on the page, I decided that for this double page spread the images should be situated in the middle with the copy going around it.

Below was my first attempt at putting the layout together:

Screen shot 2013-05-10 at 10.42.37

As this is only my first attempt at designing the layout, I feel that it has gone quite well. Although I am sure there are many more tweaks that I can add to it in order to improve the quality of the spread I feel that it somewhat resembles the Avatar feature layout that I had originally planned to be draw inspiration from. What I will have to do next with this double page spread is optimise the images and add the “Anon” border at the top of the page and the page numbers. My only criticism of this layout is that the copy may look a little overbearing to readers as there is so much and may lead to readers probably skipping the page.

Below is the first attempt of the Spotlight and Vintage Cinema Articles:

Screen shot 2013-05-10 at 10.36.35

As you can see from the image above there is a lot of text on both pages. The empty boxes represent where I think I will place the images on the layout, however I think that I may have to unfortunately get rid of some of the copy or change the copy layout in my articles in order for me to fit everything on the page comfortably. So far however I am fairly pleased with how it is looking so far, what I plan to do next is change the font and add in the images for this particular page to match it with the rest of our magazine’s uniform style.

After going back to my layout and adding pictures to the layout for the Spotlight and Vintage Cinema articles, this is what I have come up with so far:

Screen shot 2013-05-10 at 10.42.51

As you can again see from the image above, I have unfortunately had to cut out the Evil Dead section of the my Spotlight Cinema Article. This was mostly due to the fact that I simply did not have enough room to fit it in to the layout that I had pictured in my mind. I also felt that it would compliment the other members of the group’s sections if I made the layout have less copy. The same goes for the Vintage cinema article, I had to cut out a slight bit of copy for the same reasons. So far, I am fairly pleased with how the layout has turned out with these articles. However, I am sure that I will no doubt have to go back to them once we as a group start to go through the magazine as a whole. I have still yet to finish the Revival layout page as well, although I feel that I may not have to add much more to that page as it is pretty much done.

 

Leave a Reply

