Visual Communications: Double Page Spread Broken Down.

Below is my final layout for the double page spread and a commentary of it broken down in to certain aspects of the layout.

Copy and Images: With the copy there was only a slight bit of undermatter at the end of the article, however it luckily fitted together pretty well so it was not as noticeable. Having gone to the convention myself before, I found that this article was easy to write a long with the planning that I did. My planning consisted of discussing the matter among others who had been there, speaking to comic owners who had stalls at the convention previously, and researching the history of it online. The images are by myself and I feel give a good overview of that the convention looks like today in comparison to what it looked like before, it gives a sense of mass awareness and overcrowding, which is exactly what the convention is famous for. I also wanted to show images that included the kind of people that go to this year after year, which is why I chose to include the image of the cosplayers outside the convention. The image of the Freddy Kruger Comic is from one of the very few stalls that I found while I was there and so I thought it was relevant to the article.  Overall I am please with how the images fitted in the article and layout and nothing looking out of place.

Grid: The grid I used was 5×6, again I have found this part of the layout very hard to compromise with. I decided that I would have a bigger grid as it gives the layout a bit more freedom and makes it look more put-together; which is what I feel is similar to the layouts i have researched. As you can see, I have broken the grid with a few of the images and texts and the headline, but I feel that I have maintained to keep with fixed pretty well.

Fonts and Colours: I chose to stick to the more masculine approach to the fonting as it is generally easier to read and gives a higher quality to the layout. This is very similar to the layouts of the magazines I have looked in to along with the colouring. The colours go well with the rest of the layout as they are not too drastic in difference from each other and so compliment well.

Drop Cap and Glyph: I used both a drop cap and a glyph in this layout as I feel that it marks the start and end of the article better than simply not including them. As the idea of an article is to feel like a journey, it is essential I feel to include these. I chose a simple cross for the glyph as it has a slightly gothic appearance and goes well with the rest of the layout.

Magazine Section and Page Number: Having looked at magazines such as Empire and Geek, (especially with Geek as I have chosen to make this layout specifically for Geek)I found that there features are often about lengthy and more political matters (along with interviews) in the pop-culture world and so felt this should be added to their featured section.

Pull Quotes: I decided that pull quotes were not relevant to my article nor its page. If I had used them it would have made the layout look messy; although if I had less copy I might have considered using them.

vs

Overall, I am pleased with how my double page spread has come together. Its layout is similar to what a Geek feature looks like and tackles a topic that many readers would consider. The double page spread maintains a sense of quality with the copy’s language and layout and so fits the demographic of a Geek reader.

 

Leave a Reply

