Graphics & Design: Initial Exposure Techniques

As part of my Graphics and Design module, we have been asked to put together a blog giving an initial overview of each tutorial session and to contain examples of what we have covered throughout each lecture using our photographs. The first of these tutorials was to cover initial exposure techniques, these included cropping, rotating and re-sizing images, changing the tonal range and adjusting the image using levels to name a few. The idea for this tutorial was to introduce us to the basics in programs such as Photoshop and other editing programs, these techniques will aid us in our work in the future as it will help us to achieve photographs that are of a higher quality. I found this tutorial to be pretty informative, although I did know a majority of these techniques already from doing A-Level photography, I feel that this module will teach me a great deal more than I already know when using different programs such as Photoshop for my photographs. Also, I hope that it will refresh my memory on what I have already learnt as well and eventually will prove very useful to me when using these techniques for my other module for this semester, “Photo-Story”.

The following photographs are some examples of what I have learnt in this tutorial.

 Firstly, we looked in to how to crop an image successfully. Once we had done this, we were shown how to look at the image size and pick how much quality (pixels) we wanted in the shot. This shot is for my photo-story module, the photograph is a close-up of an object in my room and has already been cropped to made the object the main subject of the image.

 Secondly, we were shown how to look at the levels in the photograph and adjust them to our liking. I decided that after using grayscale on this image, I would adjust the levels to make the image look darker and give the image a more “moody” atmosphere.

 As you can see in this screenshot, the levels have been changed as I’ve made the image darker. I feel that this has given the image a completely different tone and mood as opposed to how it looked when it was in colour.

 The next task was look at all the channels that are in the image, which can be achieved by clicking the all channels option on the histogram pull down. Obviously, even though the image is black and white, you can still see that there are reds, greens and blues by looking at this menu.

As can be seen here, the colours can be brought back in to the photograph by adjusting the curves in the photograph which can be done by using Image>Adjustments>Curves. By pulling down the channel menu,you can then go onto picking specific colours that can be brought back in to the image, which can be seen here as I’ve chosen Red.

 As you can see in this screenshot, the RGB levels have changed yet again due the steps followed above.

 The final part of this tutorial was to look at Hue/Saturation levels in an image. For this, you need to click on Image>Adjustments>Hue/Saturation. It is then that you can adjust these levels by pulling down the master menu which focuses on certain colours. You can then change the brightness in the shot along with the amount of Hue and Saturation, which gives unusual results depending what you decide to do. The final outcome of my image has a much darker feel to its mood than it did in the original photo which is almost surreal.

Leave a Reply

