Graphics & Design: Typography and Layout Techniques

During this tutorial of my Graphics and Design module, we were shown to use layout and typography techniques in Adobe Illustrator.

The first part of this tutorial was looking at composition and how it is important to a layout, which determines the manner of which parts are related and combined and therefore the overall structure of the layout design. Within this composition lecture, we also learnt to consider such methods as alignment when designing a logo/artwork along with balancing the “visual weight” of a design where symmetry is widely preferred although radial balance is considered as well. Such composition can be effective especially to draw the viewer’s attention to specific elements of the page and will communicate the visual messages quickly and effectively. I found this first part of the lecture to be very informative as I have never considered the visual methods when designing a layout, I have solely used my creative instinct which luckily I have never been faulted on, however I find that this new idea will guide me more thoughtfully when in future situations.

The second part of the tutorial was looking in to the idea of typography when looking at logo design. There is this idea that  fonts have very different visual codes and meanings and is therefore a key element to any kind of design and so should be picked based on whether or not they compliment emotionally and in mood to a design. Again, I found that this latter part of the tutorial was quite informative yet something that I found could be achieved quite easily, mainly as I have studied this idea before in Media. I feel that overall I left the tutorial feeling as though I had learnt new ideas and also refreshed old ones.

Examples below of layout and typography techniques:

 Before, font manipulation in Illustrator.

After, font manipulation in Illustrator using type>create outlines.

 One of the tutorial exercises. Here the typography is present in the logo design; the fonts have very different visual codes and meanings and are picked based on whether or not they compliment emotionally and in mood to a design.

Leave a Reply

